Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Organizational justice and markers of inflammation: The Whitehall II study
  1. Marko Elovainio (marko.elovainio{at}stakes.fi)
  1. National Institute for Health and Welfare, Helsinki, Finland
    1. Jane E Ferrie (jane.ferrie{at}ucl.ac.uk)
    1. University College London, United Kingdom
      1. David Gimeno (david.gimeno{at}ucl.ac.uk)
      1. University of Texas, School of Public Health, United States
        1. Roberto DeVogli (roberto.devogli{at}ucl.ac.uk)
        1. University College London, United Kingdom
          1. Martin Shipley (m.shipley{at}ucl.ac.uk)
          1. University College London, United Kingdom
            1. Jussi Vahtera (jussi.vahtera{at}ttl.fi)
            1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
              1. Eric Brunner (eric.brunner{at}ucl.ac.uk)
              1. University College London, United Kingdom
                1. Michael G Marmot (michael.marmot{at}ucl.ac.uk)
                1. University College London, United Kingdom
                  1. Mika Kivimaki (mika.kivimaki{at}ucl.ac.uk)
                  1. University College London, United Kingdom

                    Abstract

                    Objectives: Low organizational justice has been shown to be associated with increased risk of various health problems, but the underlying mechanisms remain unclear. We tested whether organisational injustice contributes to chronic inflammation in a population of middle-aged men and women.

                    Methods: This prospective cohort study uses data from 3205 men and 1204 women aged 35–55 years at entry into the Whitehall II study (Phase 1, 1985-1988). Organisational justice perceptions were assessed at Phase 1 and Phase 2 (1989-1990) and circulating inflammatory markers C-reactive protein and interleukin-6 at Phase 3 (1991-1993) and Phase 7 (2003-2004).

                    Results: In men, low organisational justice was associated with increased C-reactive protein levels at both follow-ups (Phase 3 and 7) and increased interleukin-6 at the second follow-up (Phase 7). The long term (Phase 7) associations were largely independent of covariates, such as age, employment grade, body mass index and depressive symptoms. In women, no relationship was found between organisational justice and C-reactive protein or interleukin-6.

                    Conclusions: This study suggests that organisational injustice is associated with increased long-term levels of inflammatory markers among men.

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.