Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Prospective study on shoulder symptoms among kitchen workers in relation to self-perceived and observed work load
  1. Irmeli Pehkonen (irmeli.pehkonen{at}ttl.fi)
  1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
    1. Helena Miranda (helena.miranda{at}ttl.fi)
    1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
      1. Eija Haukka (eija.haukka{at}ttl.fi)
      1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
        1. Ritva Luukkonen (ritva.luukkonen{at}ttl.fi)
        1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
          1. Esa-Pekka Takala (esa-pekka.takala{at}ttl.fi)
          1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
            1. Ritva Ketola (ritva.ketola{at}ttl.fi)
            1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
              1. Päivi Ilona Leino-Arjas (paivi.leino-arjas{at}ttl.fi)
              1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
                1. Hilkka Riihimaki (hilkka.riihimaki{at}ttl.fi)
                1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
                  1. Eira R A Viikari-Juntura (eira.viikari-juntura{at}ttl.fi)
                  1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland

                    Abstract

                    Objectives: To study the occurrence of shoulder symptoms among professional kitchen workers, and whether the reduction in self-perceived and observed physical work load decreases future symptoms.

                    Methods: In this prospective study conducted in 2002-2005 in municipal kitchens in Finland, the changes during one-year follow-up in the physical strenuousness of the work tasks were self-assessed by 376 female workers (Substudy I). Also the changes in exposure to manual lifting and awkward upper arm posture during the follow-up were observed by experts in 69 kitchens including 183 workers (Substudy II). The information on shoulder symptoms was collected with questionnaires at baseline and follow-up. The risk of shoulder symptoms at follow-up related to the changes in exposure was estimated with logistic regression.

                    Results: The 3-month prevalence of shoulder pain was 34% at baseline and 41% at follow-up. Reduction during follow-up in the work task perceived as physically the most strenuous, i.e. receiving and storing of raw material, led to a significantly reduced risk of future shoulder pain with adjusted odds ratio (OR) of 0.41 (95% confidence interval 0.17-0.98) and trouble caused by the pain with OR of 0.34 (0.14-0.83). Also the observed reduction in lifting was associated with a lower risk for future shoulder symptoms.

                    Conclusions: Reduction in lifting showed beneficial protective effects on the shoulder. Although more risk factor and intervention studies are needed to estimate the health impact of kitchen work, special attention in the risk assessment and preventive measures should be paid to work tasks that include lifting.

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.