Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Workplace social capital and co-occurrence of lifestyle risk factors: Finnish Public Sector Study
  1. Ari Väänänen (ari.vaananen{at}ttl.fi)
  1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
    1. Anne Kouvonen (anne.kouvonen{at}nottingham.ac.uk)
    1. University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
      1. Mika Kivimäki (m.kivimaki{at}ucl.ac.uk)
      1. University College London, United Kingdom
        1. Tuula Oksanen (tuula.oksanen{at}ttl.fi)
        1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
          1. Marko Elovainio (marko.elovainio{at}stakes.fi)
          1. National Research and Development Center for Welfare and Health, Finland
            1. Marianna Virtanen (marianna.virtanen{at}ttl.fi)
            1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
              1. Jaana Pentti (jaana.pentti{at}ttl.fi)
              1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
                1. Jussi Vahtera (jussi.vahtera{at}ttl.fi)
                1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health and University of Turku, Finland

                  Abstract

                  Objective: The aim of this prospective study was to examine the link between individual and ecological workplace social capital and the co-occurrence of adverse lifestyle risk factors, such as smoking, heavy drinking, physical inactivity and overweight.

                  Methods: Data on 25,897 female and 5476 male public sector employees were analyzed. Questionnaire surveys conducted in 2000–2002 (baseline) and in 2004-2005 (follow-up) were used to assess workplace social capital, lifestyle risk factors, and other characteristics. Multilevel multinomial logistic regression analysis was used to examine the associations of individual and ecological social capital with the co-occurrence of lifestyle risk factors.

                  Results: In the cross-sectional analysis adjusted for age, sex, marital status, and employer, low social capital at work both at individual and ecological levels was associated with at least 1.3 times higher odds of having more than two lifestyle risk factors versus having no risk factors. Similar associations were found in the prospective setting. However, additional adjustment for co-occurrence of risk factors and socio-economic status at baseline attenuated the result to non-significant.

                  Conclusion: Social capital at work seems to be associated with a lowered risk of co-occurrence of multiple lifestyle risk factors, but it does not clearly predict a future risk of this co-occurrence.

                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                  Request permissions

                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.