Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Could a participatory ergonomics intervention prevent musculoskeletal disorders? A randomized controlled trial
  1. Eija Haukka (eija.haukka{at}ttl.fi)
  1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
    1. Päivi Leino-Arjas (paivi.leino-arjas{at}ttl.fi)
    1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
      1. Eira Viikari-Juntura (eira.viikari-juntura{at}ttl.fi)
      1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
        1. Esa-Pekka Takala (esa.pekka.takala{at}ttl.fi)
        1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
          1. Antti Malmivaara (antti.malmivaara{at}stakes.fi)
          1. National Research and Development Centre for Welfare and Health, Finland
            1. Leila Hopsu (leila.hopsu{at}ttl.fi)
            1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
              1. Pertti Mutanen (pertti.mutanen{at}ttl.fi)
              1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
                1. Ritva Ketola (ritva.ketola{at}ttl.fi)
                1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
                  1. Tuija Virtanen (tuija.virtanen{at}ttl.fi)
                  1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
                    1. Irmeli Pehkonen (irmeli.pehkonen{at}ttl.fi)
                    1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
                      1. Merja Holtari-Leino (merja.holtari-leino{at}tsp.stm.fi)
                      1. Occupational Safety and Health Inspectorate of Turku and Pori, Finland
                        1. Jaana Nykänen (jaana.nykanen{at}hel.fi)
                        1. City of Helsinki, Finland
                          1. Sari Stenholm (sari.stenholm{at}ktl.fi)
                          1. National Public Health Institute, Finland
                            1. Elina Nykyri (elina.nykyri{at}ttl.fi)
                            1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
                              1. Hilkka Riihimäki (hilkka.riihimaki{at}ttl.fi)
                              1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland

                                Abstract

                                ABSTRACT Objectives: To examine the efficacy of a participatory ergonomics intervention in preventing musculoskeletal disorders among kitchen workers. Participatory ergonomics is commonly recommended to reduce musculoskeletal disorders, but evidence for its effectiveness is sparse.

                                Methods: A cluster randomized controlled trial among the 504 workers of 119 kitchens in Finland was conducted during 2002-2005. Kitchens were randomized to an intervention (n = 59) and control (n = 60) group. The duration of the intervention that guided the workers to identify strenuous work tasks and to seek solutions for decreasing physical and mental workload, was 11 to 14 months. In total, 402 ergonomic changes were implemented. The main outcome measures were the occurrence of and trouble caused by musculoskeletal pain in seven anatomical sites, local fatigue after work, and sick leave due to musculoskeletal disorders. Individual level data were collected by questionnaire at baseline and every three months during the intervention and one-year follow-up period. All response rates exceeded 92%.

                                Results: No systematic differences in any outcome variable were found between the intervention and control groups during the intervention or during the one-year follow-up.

                                Conclusions:The intervention did not reduce perceived physical work load and no evidence was found for the efficacy of the intervention in preventing musculoskeletal disorders among kitchen workers. It may be that a more comprehensive redesign of work organization and processes is needed, taking more account of workers' physical and mental resources.

                                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                                Request permissions

                                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.