Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Effects of multidisciplinary inpatient rehabilitation for chronic back or neck pain: A register-linkage study of sickness absences and analgesics purchases in an occupational cohort
  1. Heikki Suoyrjo (heikki.suoyrjo{at}petrea.fi)
  1. Petrea, Finland
    1. Katariina Hinkka (katariina.hinkka{at}kela.fi)
    1. Social Insurance Institution of Finland, Finland
      1. Tuula Oksanen (tuula.oksanen{at}ttl.fi)
      1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
        1. Mika Kivimäki (mika.kivimaki{at}ttl.fi)
        1. University of Helsinki, Finland
          1. Timo Klaukka (timo.klaukka{at}kela.fi)
          1. Social Insurance Institution of Finland, Finland
            1. Jaana Pentti (jaana.pentti{at}ttl.fi)
            1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
              1. Jussi Vahtera (jussi.vahtera{at}ttl.fi)
              1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland

                Abstract

                Objective: To determine the effects of multidisciplinary inpatient rehabilitation for chronic back or neck pain on sickness absences and analgesic purchases. Design: A prospective observational study Setting: 10 towns in Finland Participants: 34,838 local government employees, including 418 participants in rehabilitation for chronic back pain and 195 participants in rehabilitation for chronic neck pain between 1994 and 2002. Main outcome measures: The annual rates of short (1-3 days), long (>3 days), and very long (>21 days) sickness absences and the defined daily doses (DDD) of prescribed analgesics. Results: The rate of very long (>21 days) sickness absence among the chronic back pain rehabilitees was 3.03.-fold (95% CI 2.55 to 3.60) compared to the non-rehabilitees in the year before rehabilitation. This ratio declined to 1.88 (1.65 to 2.37) three years after rehabilitation. No further decline in the rate of very long sickness absence was observed in the subsequent years. For chronic neck pain rehabilitees, no evidence of the effectiveness of rehabilitation on sickness absence was found. In relation to consumption of analgesics, the mean rate of DDDs declined among the back and neck pain rehabilitees after rehabilitation compared to the non-rehabilitees. Conclusions: Multidisciplinary inpatient rehabilitation for chronic back pain may decrease the risk of very long sickness absence for 3 years. In relation to rehabilitation for chronic neck pain, no changes in sickness absences were found.

                • Absenteeism
                • Analgesics
                • Low back pain
                • Neck pain
                • Rehabilitation

                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                Request permissions

                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.