Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Experimental exposure to wood smoke: Effects on airway inflammation and oxidative stress
  1. Lars Barregard (lars.barregard{at}amm.gu.se)
  1. Sahlgrenska University Hospital and Academy, Göteborg University, Sweden
    1. Gerd Sallsten (gerd.sallsten{at}amm.gu.se)
    1. Sahlgrenska University Hospital and Academy, Göteborg University, Sweden
      1. Lena Andersson (lena.andersson{at}amm.gu.se)
      1. Sahlgrenska University Hospital and Academy, Göteborg University, Sweden
        1. Ann-Charlotte Almstrand (ann-charlotte.isacsson{at}amm.gu.se)
        1. Sahlgrenska University Hospital and Academy, Göteborg University, Sweden
          1. Pernilla Gustafson (pernilla.gustafson{at}amm.gu.se)
          1. Sahlgrenska University Hospital and Academy, Göteborg University, Sweden
            1. Marianne Andersson (marianne.andersson{at}amm.gu.se)
            1. Sahlgrenska University Hospital and Academy, Göteborg University, Sweden
              1. Anna-Carin Olin (anna-carin.olin{at}amm.gu.se)
              1. Sahlgrenska University Hospital and Academy, Göteborg University, Sweden

                Abstract

                Particulate air pollution affects cardiovascular and pulmonary disease and mortality. A main hypothesis about the mechanisms involved is that particles induce inflammation in lower airways, systemic inflammation and oxidative stress. Objectives: To examine whether short-term exposure to wood smoke in healthy subjects affects markers of pulmonary inflammation and oxidative stress. Methods: Thirteen subjects were exposed first to clean air and then to wood smoke in a chamber during 4-hour sessions, 1 week apart. The mass concentrations of fine particles at wood smoke exposure were 240-280 µg/m3, and number concentrations were 95, 000–180, 000/cm3, about half of particles being ultrafine (< 100 nm). Blood and breath samples were taken before, and at various intervals after, exposure to wood smoke and clean air and examined for exhaled nitric oxide and Clara cell protein in serum and urine, and malondialdehyde in exhaled breath condensate. Results: Exposure to wood smoke increased alveolar nitric oxide 3 hours post-exposure while malondialdehyde levels in breath condensate were higher both immediately after and 20 hours after exposure. Serum Clara cell protein was increased 20 hours after exposure. Conclusions: Wood smoke at levels that can be found in smoky indoor environments caused an inflammatory response and signs of increased oxidative stress in the respiratory tract, especially in the lower airways.

                • Clara cell protein
                • air pollution
                • alveolar nitric oxide
                • exhaled breath condensate
                • malondialdehyde

                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                Request permissions

                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.