Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Low organisational justice and heavy drinking: a prospective cohort study
  1. Anne Kouvonen (anne.kouvonen{at}nottingham.ac.uk)
  1. University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
    1. Mika Kivimäki (m.kivimaki{at}ucl.ac.uk)
    1. University College London, United Kingdom
      1. Marko Elovainio (marko.elovainio{at}stakes.fi)
      1. National Research and Development Center for Welfare and Health, Finland
        1. Ari K.P. Vaananen (ari.vaananen{at}ttl.fi)
        1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
          1. Roberto De Vogli (r.devogli{at}ucl.ac.uk)
          1. International Centre for Health and Society, Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, Universi, United Kingdom
            1. Tarja Heponiemi (tarja.heponiemi{at}stakes.fi)
            1. National Research and Development Centre for Welfare and Health (STAKES), Finland
              1. Anne Linna (anne.linna{at}ttl.fi)
              1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
                1. Jaana Pentti (jaana.pentti{at}ttl.fi)
                1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
                  1. Jussi Vahtera (jussi.vahtera{at}ttl.fi)
                  1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland

                    Abstract

                    Objectives: To investigate whether low perceived organisational injustice predicts heavy drinking among employees. Methods: Data from the prospective occupational cohort study, the 10-Town Study, related to 15 290 Finnish public sector local government employees nested in 2432 work units, were used. Non-drinkers were excluded. Procedural, interactional and total organisational justice, heavy drinking (>=210 g of absolute alcohol per week) and other psychosocial factors were determined by means of questionnaire in 2000-2001 (phase 1) and 2004 (phase 2). Multilevel logistic regression analyses taking into account for the hierarchical structure of the data were conducted and adjustments were made for sex, age, socio-economic position, marital status, baseline heavy drinking, psychological distress and other psychosocial risk factors such as job strain and effort/reward imbalance. Results: After adjustments, participants who reported low procedural justice at phase 1 were about 1.2 times more likely to be heavy drinkers at phase 2 compared with their counterparts with high justice. Low perceived justice in interpersonal treatment and low perceived total organisational justice were associated with an elevated prevalence of heavy drinking only in the socio-demographics adjusted model. Conclusions: This is the first longitudinal study to show that low procedural justice is weakly associated with an increased likelihood of heavy drinking.

                    • alcohol consumption
                    • heavy drinking
                    • organisational justice
                    • psychosocial factors

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.